AGM of the TFNC held in the Life Sciences Department at UTAS, Churchill Avenue, Sandy Bay at 7.30 pm, Thursday, 5th March 2015

AGM began at 8.17 pm.

President Kevin Bonham took the chair.

There were 44 members present.

Apologies

Margaret Warren, Vern Hansson, Jane Catchpole, Kristi Ellingsen Kevin mentioned that Kristi had had to chair some difficult committee meetings during his absence.

Minutes of the last meeting

Genevieve Gates read the minutes of the AGM 2014 and Kevin Bonham moved that the minutes be accepted as a true record of that meeting. Amanda seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Treasurer's report

Anna McEldowney read the report and moved that the financial report be accepted and Mark seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Secretary's Report/Annual report

Mark Wapstra moved that this be a true account and Anna McEldowney seconded it. David Ratkowsky proposed a correction of "Myrtle Gully Collinsvale" to "Myrtle Forest Collinsvale". Motion carried with this correction. Motion carried. Kevin thanked outgoing members Kristi Ellingsen and Geoff Carle for their contribution to the committee and the club in this report.

Marjorie Wall thanked the club for all the wonderful talks and its efforts and said she was so pleased that she could still attend the meetings.

Office bearers:

Genevieve Gates took the chair and conducted the election of Kevin Bonham as president who then continued the election of the office bearers.

President

Kevin Bonham, nominated Genevieve Gates, seconded Anna McEldowney, elected unopposed

Vice president

Greg Heap, nominated Jean Rothero, seconded Lani Elliott, elected unopposed

Secretary

Genevieve Gates, nominated Anna McEldowney, seconded David Ratkowsky, elected unopposed

Treasurer

- 1. Anna McEldowney, nominated David Ratkowsky, seconded Genevieve Gates, elected unopposed
- 2. Greg Heap, nominated Jean Rothero, seconded Lani Elliott, withdrawn

Bulletin Editor

Deirdre Brown, nominated Genevieve Gates, seconded David Ratkowsky, elected unopposed

Naturalist editor

Mark Wapstra, nominated Anna McEldowney, seconded Genevieve Gates, elected unopposed

Walks and Talks coordinator/Program organiser

Amanda Thomson, nominated Genevieve Gates, seconded Anna McEldowney, elected unopposed

Librarian

Elizabeth Bicevskis, nominated Genevieve Gates, seconded Anna McEldowney, elected unopposed

General Committee members

At this point Greg Heap wanted to move a motion that a change be made to the club rules to elect as many general committee members as nominated. Changes to the club rules require 21 days notice therefore this could not be considered tonight at the AGM. He then wanted to defer the election of the general committee members until the general meeting in April which would allow the required 21 days notice to be given. While it was being considered whether this motion was in order, Sue Smillie withdrew from the election thus allowing all three candidates to be elected unopposed as follows:

- 1. Anke Frank, nominated Anna McEldowney, seconded Genevieve Gates, elected unopposed
- 2. Beth Heap, nominated Lani Elliott, seconded Greg Heap, elected unopposed
- 3. Jane Catchpole, nominated Genevieve Gates, seconded Anna McEldowney, elected unopposed
- 4. Sue Smillie, nominated David Ratkowsky, seconded Genevieve Gates, withdrawn
- 5. Greg Heap, nominated Jean Rothero, seconded Lani Elliott, automatically withdrawn.

The appointment of a couple to the committee prompted Anna McEldowney to query whether it was appropriate for two people from the same household to be on the committee. Anna suggested that this was a matter that could be discussed by the committee in the coming year. Genevieve Gates remarked that people from the same household were not necessarily a couple. President Kevin Bonham replied that it would take some discussion and deliberation to make this revision especially when there was a couple already sitting on the committee.

Public Officer

Amanda Thomson

Public auditor

Anna McEldowney moved that Peter Franklin be retained as the auditor and Annabel Carle seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Meeting closed at 8.53 pm.