Minutes of the AGM, Tasmanian Field Naturalists Club, 7 March 2013

The March meeting commenced at 7.30 with Michael Driessen's presidential address, entitled 'What's special about Tasmania's fauna?' Mike put Tasmania into a historical context, showing the impacts that water, geology, our island status, age and separation have had on forming our unique fauna and special communities. He finished with an entertaining selection of excursion photos.

The AGM opened at 8. 47 members and friends were present with 3 apologies.

Amanda Thomson read the minutes of the AGM for 1 March 2012.

Michael Driessen moved that the minutes of the AGM for 2012 be accepted. This was seconded by Peter Jarman.

Michael Driessen read the Secretary's Report for 2012 – including a list of all speakers, excursions, numbers of participants and attendance averages. New member – Greg Heap, and Simon Grove and Geoff Fenton's resignation from the committee were announced.

Anna McEldowney moved that the Secretary's Report be accepted, this was seconded by Geoff Carle.

Anna McEldowney read the Financial Report and moved that it be accepted. Qug King seconded the motion. Anna McEldowney moved that Peter Franklin be retained as Auditor for 2013, seconded by Geoff Fenton.

The President's Report for 2013.

Michael thanked the committee for their work, with a special thanks to Betty Brettingham Moore for her work as 'Tea Lady'.

Others thanked included Beth Heap for her Bulletin productions, and those who contributed to excursion reports; also Mark Wapstra for "the Tasmanian Naturalist' publication and those who contributed articles.

Other special mentions included the upcoming ANN meeting in 2014 with a request for contributions to ensure its success. The provision of a Club Grant, the details still being finalised. Revamp of the club website by Greg Heap and Simon Grove. Finally the exciting rediscovery of the Miena Jewel Beetle thanks to Don Hird's organization.

The election of office bearers for 2013.

Kevin Bonham took the chair, calling for nominations as Michael Driessen resigned as President.

The following positions were opened and filled:

President: one nomination was received and Greg Heap gracefully accepted.

Greg Heap then took the chair Other positions were nominated and received: Vice President: Kevin Bonham Secretary: Genevieve Gates Bulletin Editor: Beth Heap Treasurer: Anna McEldowney Program Co-ordinator: Amanda Thomson Librarian: Qug King Journal Editor: Mark Wapstra General Committee members: Simon Grove, All were elected unopposed.

Meeting closed at 8.37pm.